Thursday, 7 October 2010

Past winners of the T.A.G. Hungerford Award

The T.A.G. Hungerford Award was established in 1988 to honour West Australian author T.A.G. Hungerford for his outstanding contribution to literature. The Award is made biennially for an unpublished manuscript by a West Australian author who has not previously published a work of fiction in book form.

Past winners of the award are:
1990: Brenda Walker,
1991: Gail Jones,
The House of Breathing
1993: Simone Lazaroo,
The World Waiting to be Made
1995: Bruce Russell,
Jacob's Air
2000: Christopher Murray,
A Whispering of Fish
2002: Nathan Hobby,
The Fur
2004: Donna Mazza,
The Albanian
2006: Alice Nelson,
The Last Sky
2008: Natasha Lester,
What is Left Over, After

Fremantle Press is a co-sponsor of the T.A.G. Hungerford Award and publishes the winning manuscript. Along with Fremantle Press, the award is sponsored by
The West Australian, New Edition Bookshop in Fremantle and writingWA. Contact writingWA for more information.

This year, for the first time, the Award was opened to manuscripts of creative non-fiction as well as to fiction. It is a fitting expansion, given T.A.G. Hungerford’s own contribution to the genre.

Judging of the 2010 T.A.G. Hungerford is currently underway and the winner will be announced in early 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment